Gozo Overview

         Gozo is Malta's smaller sister island. It is not an independent state but forms part of the Maltese archipelago. Gozo has a total land area of around 68.7 square kilometres with a population of approximately 31,000. It is around 14.5km long and 7.25km wide at its widest points. Victoria, (also known as Rabat) which geographically lies in the centre of the island, is the capital city of Gozo and is named after Queen Victoria. The villages in Gozo are still largely separate, unlike their Maltese counterparts where due to over-population and construction most villages have merged and it has become hard to distinguish where one village ends and the next starts. In Gozo one can find hills, green valleys, rugged landscapes, coastlines, and cliffs overlooking the sea. Besides making up breathtaking and picturesque views, they also give this tiny island its characteristic scenery. Gozo is sometimes called the island of ‘Three Hills'. The three hills refer to the villages of Xagħra, Nadur and Żebbuġ, the biggest hills on the island.

         Despite its small size, Gozo boasts a history of over 7,000 years, a history and cultural heritage that goes a long way back. In Gozo one can find forts, historical sites and the world's oldest man-made free-standing prehistoric temple Ġgantija, which is found in the locality of Xagħra. People sometimes refer to Gozo as a place where time stands still. Many people warm to Gozo because of its sense of tranquillity and peace, an ideal place where to relax in its old-world charm.